Refuge in You

S (Scripture) – Psalm 5:11-12 “But let all who take refuge in You be glad, let them ever sing for joy; and may You shelter them, that those who love Your name may exult in You.  For it is You who blesses the righteous man, O Lord, You surround him with favor as with a shield.”

O (Observation) – Lord, I had quite the emotional roller coaster today.  When all was said and done, this was my psalm for today…one that reminds me that You are my refuge, my “shelter or protection from danger or distress.”  You are the one who shelters me, who keeps me in “a position or state of being covered and protected.”  I love Your name, and I freely exult in You – to exult means “to be extremely joyful.”  I am extremely joyful because I realize it is You who blesses the righteous and surrounds him or her with favor that can only come from heaven.  The kind of favor that we cannot manufacture with our own worldly methods and contacts.  Your favor is so far above anything we can imagine…it literally wraps itself around us as a shield, “a protective cover or barrier.”

A (Application) – There is nowhere else I would rather be than right in the middle of Your will for my life, enveloped in Your favor, joyful in Your protection, and at peace at all times.  Thank You, Lord, for this reminder that no matter what we are going through, Your presence is where we rest our head at night.  Your heart is where our heart belongs.  Your face is what we should be seeking.  May we not get so wrapped up in our circumstances that we forget how much different it all could be if we were facing them with your favor as our shield.

P (Prayer) – Guide me, Jesus.  Grant me wisdom on my journey.  Open doors that You want opened and close doors You want closed.  In the midst of it all, guard me with Your favor as I exult in You.  Thank You that You go before me to make a way as my shield, follow after me to pick up any broken pieces I’ve made, and surround me on all sides with Your love, in everything.

Leave a Reply

