The One Who Lifts My Head

S (Scripture) – Psalm 3:1-4 “O Lord, how my adversaries have increased!  Many are rising up against me.  Many are saying of my soul, ‘There is no deliverance for him in God.’  But You, O Lord, are a shield about me.  My glory, and the One who lifts my head.  I was crying to the Lord with my voice, and He answered me from His holy mountain.”

O (Observation) – Lord, there will be many in this life who scoff at the mention of Your Name.  There will be many who intentionally seek to destroy the righteous and cannot tolerate someone who genuinely follows after You.  But none of what they say ultimately matters.  Only what You say counts.  You surround me with Your love and grace that no one can take away from me.  Romans 8:38-39 reminds us, “For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  

A (Application) – When we do stumble in this life and find ourselves looking down at our own situation and shortcomings, You are there to reach gently for our chin and guide our eyes upward to You.  When our head is lifted from our fear and dismay, we can see clearly all that matters.  When we cry to You, we are are exposing the rawness of our emotions with You.  We can be sure that You will not only hear us but will indeed answer us.

P (Prayer) – Heavenly Father, I’m so thankful that I can be real with You.  I don’t have to try and pretend to have it all together spiritually.  There are times in life when I feel like the walls are just closing in on me…but You are my shield.  You are the One who lifts my head.  You are the One who answers my cry for help.  Thank You for always being faithful to me and for never giving up on me.

Leave a Reply

